During the coming year, the following eight areas will as usual, organise individual herd competitions and the winners will be eligible to compete in the above competition.

Midlands and East Anglia
South of England
North of England
South West of England
Northern Ireland
West Midlands

There will be no restriction on the size of qualifying herds.

All competitors must make available to the master judge all registered Hereford cattle in their herds.

The judging of this national competition will take place during August/September with awards for the first, second and third prize-winning herds being presented at the society’s annual dinner held at the Albrighton Hotel and Spa, near Shrewsbury, Shropshire on Friday 8 October 2021.

Results of the area competitions must be lodged with the society no later than mid-August.

Members wishing to compete for their local competition should apply to their respective area association/club.


The CE Rudge perpetual trophy and salver to the overall winning herd.

A salver to the second and third prize-winning herds.

Each area winning herd will also be presented with a small engraved salver.